Mumbai Indians all-time IPL XI: Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar in star-studded list

It’s that time of the year when top cricketers from across the globe will be battling in the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL). By this time, the race for the top 4 spots would be at its business end. However, this year there has been no glitzy action as IPL has been suspended until further notice due to the novel coronavirus pandemic.

At this juncture, has come up with a new series where we will pick all-time XIs for the 8 IPL teams who have been part of the league since its inception.

In the first installment of the series, we pick an all-time XI for Mumbai Indians who have become the most successful IPL franchise in the 12-year history of one of the most popular T20 tournaments.

Captain: Rohit Sharma

This is one of the easiest picks to make. Mumbai Indians began with batting great Sachin Tendulkar leading the team in the first 4 years. While MI was always a force to reckon in the IPL, it was not until 2013 they started to dominate the tournament.

Notably, Mumbai Indians had begun the IPL 2013 season with Ricky Ponting leading the franchise. However, he stepped down as captain mid-way and Rohit Sharma took over.

Rohit’s appointment as captain can be called as the defining moment in MI’s history. From winning the title in his maiden year as captain in 2013 to pulling off a heist in 2015, Rohit Sharma proved his worth as skipper by winning 2 titles in the first 3 years of his captaincy.

Mumbai Indians added 2 more titles to their trophy cabinet with the latest coming in IPL 2019. Rohit not only made MI a winning machine but under him, their rivalry with Chennai Super Kings has become one of the major talking points of the IPL.

Openers: Sachin Tendulkar and Quinton de Kock

It’s hard to look past Sachin Tendulkar when it comes to the opening spot for any limited-overs team. Mumbai Indians are not an exception. Tendulkar adapted to the T20 format wonderfully well and was crucial to Mumbai Indians’ success in the initial years of the IPL.

Tendulkar played 78 matches for MI between 2008-2013 and hit 2334 runs at an average of 30-plus and a strike rate of 119.81.

When it comes to the 2nd opener’s slot, there have been several match-winners, including Sanath Jayasuriya, at the top for MI. Lendl Simmons, the West Indies’ T20 World Cup-winning opener, is one such who had a great impact on the team. Simmons scored 1079 runs at an average of close to 40 and a strike rate of 120-plus.

However, Quinton de Kock made a massive impact in the IPL 2019 season for Mumbai Indians with 529 runs in 16 matches. Not just with the bat, but de Kock also offered MI with a quality wicketkeeping option. He pips Simmons to take the opener’s role in our list.

No. 3: Ambati Rayudu

Before playing match-winning knocks at will for Chennai Super Kings, Ambati Rayudu was a crucial member of the Mumbai Indians squad. Rayudu played 114 matches for MI and was part of their title-winning teams thrice. The Hyderabad batsman has a fine record with MI as he amassed 2416 runs at an average of less than and a strike rate of over 125.

Middle order: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav

The skipper, who likes to bat at No. 4 for Mumbai Indians, will be our No. 4. Nothing more to add than just his numbers. 3728 runs in 143 matches at a strike rate of over 130.

There are quite a few contenders for the No. 5 spot. Dinesh Karthik, who played for Mumbai Indians between 2012 and 2013 is a fine choice, given his contribution with the bat and behind the stumps. However, Suryakumar Yadav pips the Kolkata Knight Riders captain at the spot, considering the Mumbai youngster’s recent exploits for the side.

Suryakumar smashed 424 runs in their title-winning campaign in 2019 and has an overall tally of 936 runs at an impressive average of 33.42 and a strike of 131.46. One for the future, eh?

All-rounders: Pandya brothers, Pollard

Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya are easy choices here. Numbers are one thing but the match-winning impact these two all-rounders have had at Mumbai Indians over the years make them an enviable pair.

Is there a need to pick up a 3rd all-rounder for Mumbai Indians’ all-time XI. Well, yes. We could have picked Mitchell McCleneghan, one of MI’s mainstays over the years, instead of a 3rd all-rounder. However, the side’s lack of many established names in the spin department, makes it difficult for McCleneghan to find a place.

Hardik’s brother, Krunal Pandya, a left-arm spinner, pips McCleneghan for the 3rd all-rounder’s spot in the Mumbai Indians’ all-time XI.

Krunal has scored 891 runs in 55 matches at an average of 26.20 and an impressive strike rate of 146. He not only gets the big hits at the cruch moments but also is a proven wicket-taker. Krunal has taken 40 wickets for MI at an impressive average of 28.80 and an economy of just over 7. More than handy!

Frontline spinner: Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh had been one of the mainstays for Mumbai Indians until he moved to Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2018. Harbhajan has been part of the leadership group at MI since the inception of the league. In fact, it was under his leadership, MI won the Champions League title in 2011.

Harabhajan is one of the finest spinners to have played for MI ever. Harbhajan’s numbers with the ball: 127 wickets from 136 matches at an impressive economy rate of 6.95.

Fast bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga

It’s the master and his apprentice. While Lasith Malinga is the all-time leading wicket-taker in the IPL, Jasprit Bumrah is on his way to legendary status as well. In the IPL, Bumrah has been the homegrown X-factor for Mumbai Indians. Their combination has worked wonders for the team and it was evident in IPL 2019 when the duo came up with crucial spells at crucial junctures in the season.

With Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard offering medium-pace options, our Mumbai Indians all-time XI features just 2 frontline pacers.

Our Mumbai Indians’ all-time XI: Sachin Tendulkar, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma ©, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya.

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: